Artist Spotlight – AfricanSoulChild Entertainment & Productions

triple zHello Ladies and Gents of the world!

This week I thought I would do something different so I created an Artist Spotlight segment. These features will be almost comparable to those of Rolling Stone Magazines interviews 😉 (in my mind)

Without further ado, I would like to introduce AfricanSoulChild Entertainment & Productions. These guy are extremely talented Djs and producers. Collectively they have over two decades  worth of experience in the industry.

The human components of AfricanSoulChild comprises of Ricardo Ramberose, Michael Carey, Brian Ponen and Brett James.

Take a look at the interview I did with the group as they talked about how it all began, their experiences and beyond the music.

PosterLogo (1)

DG: How did you first begin DJing/Producing?

Brian Ponen: Bought my first set of turntables and mixer in the UK London way back in 2004, mastered mixing on vinyl’s and never looked back from there.

Brett James: Originally from KZN Durban, in 2003 I relocated the Johannesburg in search of a better life and better opportunities. I always had a dream of someday making or getting into the music world, that was my dream.  It was then when I moved to JHB, I developed a taste for deep house music. In 2004 I decided that a Disc Jockey would be the perfect way for me to accomplish the dream I had, I then managed to get myself a set of decks and for the next years taught myself how to mix. I started playing professionally in 2006.

DG: Tell me a bit about the AfricanSoulchild label?

Brian Ponen: African soul child is a niche music production, deejay and entertainment company, three out of four of the current partners hail from Ladysmith KZN and literally grew up together being neighbours, founded by Ricardo Ramberose in 2009 and the movement still going strong and actually better than ever with huge prospects ahead, music production has been busy and there are quite a few quality tunes are on the backburner, our deejays are of highest quality and very knowledgeable of music across all genres…

DG: Who else is in the team?

Brian Ponen: Ricardo Ramberose (CEO, deejay, producer), Michael Carey (Marketing & Sales), Brett James (Productions and IT), myself (CFO, deejay, producer)

DG: Your sets are very versatile/unique, how do you generally prepare?

Brett James: I normally do a 2 hour performance / set when at a show or booked for gigs, My sets consists of new material, like promo music if I can get my hands on them lol, But mostly good Deep House, that is my genre, I also play a bit of Deep Tech. In terms of production, I’ve only got 3 years under my belt, continuing to grow I’m always learning new things, I don’t limit myself to one genre in terms of production, I also do a bit of Hip Hop / R&B production for the Label.

DG: What was your favourite party of all time that you have played?

Brian Ponen: On a boat cruising along River Thames, in the heart of London UK. Rubbed shoulders with big boys in the game and met quite a few celebrities, and created a name for myself.

DG: You have been putting out a ton of remixes/edits recently which have been getting a lot of love. What upcoming projects are you working on? Are you working on any originals?

Brett James: I am currently busy with an EP consisting of 5 tracks to come out in the near future on ASCP.

DG: What’s the most embarrassing thing that’s happened to you at a show? Ha-haBrett James Dj 2014-12-17 20.44.26

Brian Ponen: Laptop froze, very embarrassing long, fortunately I had CD as backup, never used that laptop again!

Brett James: Embarrassing thing. Nothing more than the Simple CD scratch or skip that I hate so much. That has happened quiet a lot.

DG: What do you like to do when you’re not working on music/DJing?

Brett James: When I am not Djing, I love to go and support other dj’s, checkout new places & new talent.

Brian Ponen: Group Accountant by day, I know, you never pictured me to be a group accountant lol.

DG: What is your opinion on the current House scene?

Brian Ponen: I think SA has taken over deep and tribal house, they in my opinion are second to none in thes
e genres, of course the likes of Louis Vega, Kerri Chandler, Quentin Harris will always rock on the international scene, but the SA house scene is attracting international players too, Ralf Gum and Monique Bingham have made Mzansi there home because of the energy we have in these genres.

DG: What do you think will be the next big thing in House music?

Brian Ponen: For the near future I see the electronic trends coming back, and being crossed with our local lyrics, creating a unique sound, it’s like combining kwaito and EDM lol.

DG: What do you think about all these “frauds” in the House scene using ghost producers, buying likes and purchasing their own tracks on Beatport?2014-12-17 20.44.56

Brian Ponen: Well I don’t judge, for me if you producing good music I will support you, I suppose this is better than piracy, though not saying I condone it, still creates misconception.  At the end of the day one love respect the game.

DG: Is there any upcoming releases/shows we should keep an eye out for?

Brett James: Too look out for. My monthly Podcast called Breathin – Breathout that showcases what I normally play at my sets & shows, some are recorded live from the venue. The podcast can be found on soundcloud.

So there you have it…Make sure you check out Soundcloud and Mixcloud for their mixes and productions.

Till next time, Party Hard and Be Safe out there!

abstract music

One thought on “Artist Spotlight – AfricanSoulChild Entertainment & Productions

Leave a Reply

